2017-2018 Executive Committee

President: Christine Mitchell
St. Andrews College
1121 College Dr.
Saskatoon, SK S7N 0W3


Vice-President: Stanley Porter
McMaster Divinity College
1280 Main St. W
Hamilton, ON L8S 4K1


Executive Secretary: Keith Bodner
Crandall University
Box 6004
Moncton, NB, E1C 9L7


Treasurer & Membership Secretary: Alex Damm
Department of Religion and Culture
Wilfrid Laurier University
75 University Avenue West
Waterloo, ON, N2L 3C5


Communications Officer: Paul S. Evans
McMaster Divinity College
Divinity Room 236
1280 Main St. West
Hamilton, ON, L8S 4K1


Programme Coordinator: Agnes Choi
Hauge Administration Building-Room 207F
Pacific Lutheran University
12180 Park Avenue S.
Tacoma, WA 98447


Student Liaison Officer: Anna Cwikla
University of Toronto
Dept. for the Study of Religion
170 St. George St.
Toronto, ON M5R 2M8





The president: chairs the executive and annual meetings; serves as a judge for the student essay prizes (along with the vice-president); invites and introduces the Craigie Lecturer (in alternate years); and, delivers the presidential address.


The vice-president: participates in executive meetings (Winter and Spring); receives nominations for the replacement of executive members and brings these to the attention of the current executive, preparing the slate for the annual meeting; makes decisions regarding the Wagner award (with the assistance of others); and, assists the president in evaluating the winner of the the student essay prizes.

Executive Secretary
The executive secretary: prepares both the Fall (September) and Spring (mid- March) mailings concerning the upcoming CSBS Spring meeting; arranges the Winter (in February) and Spring (the day before the CSBS meeting) executive meetings and takes minutes at these meetings; takes minutes at the AGM in the Spring; attends the CCSR Executive meeting at the end of January (usually in Montreal); and, facilitates the student essay competition by removing names and sending papers as email attachments to the judges (president and vice- president).

Treasurer & Membership Secretary

The treasurer has two interrelated roles: First, s/he keeps track of the membership database, collects dues each year from the membership, and passes on membership database information to both the publisher of Studies in Religion and the CFHSS on an annual basis. Second, s/he maintains the financial records and chequing account for the Society including issuing invoices, paying bills, making deposits, other record keeping; prepares the Society’s books for its annual Review of Financial Statements and its annual tax return; provides an annual report at the Spring AGM and executive meetings; and, works closely with the Communications Officer and Program Coordinator as needed.

Communications Officer

The Communications Officer: maintains communications with members of the society, including the dissemination of the Fall and Spring mailings and other important announcements by email; maintains and updates the CSBS website; and, facilitates the two book prizes by receiving nominations from members, procuring review copies of nominated books from publishers, and communicating with and sending books to the jurists for the prizes.

Programme Coordinator

The program coordinator: receives proposals/abstracts for the general programme from members; arranges them into a full programme; advises the chairs of the seminars and special sessions on practical matters; books all rooms for the meeting; arranges for audio-visual support in meeting rooms; and, works closely with the Local Area Coordinator (different for every meeting) to arrange the annual banquet.

Student Liaison Officer

The student liaison: participates in the Winter and Spring Executive meetings; arranges the special student session and lunch (for students and new members) at the Spring CSBS meeting; and, generally represents the interests of student members of the society.